i can haz electoral reform?

The government has no soul, heart nor morality. No respect for the environment. No respect for Canadians. No respect for first nations whom they consider as simpletons. The worst and most cynical government in or history. How did they get elected three times?

– comment in response to Northern Gateway

Is the Conservative Party and the federal government listening to itself? It thinks the economy, jobs and money are the most important things for the country. If that’s all my country is about – if money is the be all and end all – I’m not sure I want to be part of it anymore. Jobs and profit are tools to achieve something higher, like a more equal, happier, healthier society made up of individuals and communities filling their lives with meaning and worth. GDP growth is not a legitimate end goal. This government fails to see the bigger picture, fails to be driven and guided by higher values and principles. We CANNOT allow the Conservative Party to form a fourth government. It would be the final nail in the coffin for the country.

—–

The experience of being in a faith community was transformative for me; just as significant was the sense that I finally had answers to all of life’s questions.  The world, once so complex and confusing, was suddenly simple and easy to navigate.  Had a question?  The Bible had an answer.  The end.

– Liz Lin, Confessions of a Former Neofundamentalist

This was exactly how I felt when I was introduced to economics as an academic discipline in my last two years of high school. The world suddenly made sense! It was life changing and I felt enlightened. Everything in life could be explained by an equation or a graph. Decisions boiled down to the first order condition – or, even more simply, a cost-benefit analysis.

I became a Christian when I was a sophomore in high school, after years of wrestling with questions of religion and spirituality.  The experience of being in a faith community was transformative for me; just as significant was the sense that I finally had answers to all of life’s questions.  The world, once so complex and confusing, was suddenly simple and easy to navigate.  Had a question?  The Bible had an answer.  The end. – See more at: http://thesaltcollective.org/confessions-former-neofundamentalist/#sthash.CoIZWvrV.dpuf
I became a Christian when I was a sophomore in high school, after years of wrestling with questions of religion and spirituality.  The experience of being in a faith community was transformative for me; just as significant was the sense that I finally had answers to all of life’s questions.  The world, once so complex and confusing, was suddenly simple and easy to navigate.  Had a question?  The Bible had an answer.  The end. – See more at: http://thesaltcollective.org/confessions-former-neofundamentalist/#sthash.CoIZWvrV.dpuf
I became a Christian when I was a sophomore in high school, after years of wrestling with questions of religion and spirituality.  The experience of being in a faith community was transformative for me; just as significant was the sense that I finally had answers to all of life’s questions.  The world, once so complex and confusing, was suddenly simple and easy to navigate.  Had a question?  The Bible had an answer.  The end. – See more at: http://thesaltcollective.org/confessions-former-neofundamentalist/#sthash.CoIZWvrV.dpuf
Leave a Reply

