no wonder i have no thesis topic yet

You can never really go hungry as long as you have flour in your kitchen; even without any fat you can still make bannock. I have fond childhood memories of roasting flour-water-paste-covered sticks over a campfire, thinking it was the best camp snack ever.  Seriously, who needs smores?

I try not to go to the supermarket more than once a day cos I have this fear that the cashiers will recognise me and laugh amongst themselves at how often I frequent and probably judge what I purchase, too. Today around dinnertime I realised I had “no” food and had already used up my daily quota of supermarket visits – but like I said, as long as you have flour you should be okay – and I was!

The best thing about these scones is that they are low in butter, don’t require yeast, and are fully adaptable. Add whatever you want – currants for sweet ones, cheese for savoury ones – your imagination’s the limit! Which is absolutely how baking should be.

Cheesy onion and zuke scones (adapted from here and here)

360 g flour
2 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
30 g butter
180 mL buttermilk
cheese1
1 small onion
1/2 zucchini2
thyme
seasoning3

  1. Preheat oven to 200°C.
  2. Mince onion and zuke. Fry with thyme and pepper over medium heat until soft.
  3. In a medium bowl, whisk dry ingredients together. Dice cheese and add to flour mixture. Season to taste.
  4. Cube butter and rub into flour with fingers. Add onion and zuke and mix.
  5. Make a well in the flour and pour in buttermilk. Combine well.
  6. Drop tablespoonfuls of dough onto baking sheet and bake until top starts turning golden brown.

1 Something sharp like mature cheddar would be good but I had gouda. The mildness of gouda let the sweetness of the onion stand out.
2 Optional. Everything after the first 5 ingredients is optional, so go nuts!
3 Whatever you have. I had freshly ground black pepper and paprika but mustard powder would feel right at home too.

[Later] GREAT NEWS: I HAVE A THESIS TOPIC(ish)!!!! I contacted a prof for a meet-up to ask if it’s thesis-y enough, and if he’s willing to be my advisor. Fingers crossed – or, in German, thumbs pushed (Daumen drücken)!

3 thoughts on “no wonder i have no thesis topic yet

Leave a Reply

