on becoming conservative

François Guizot: Not to be a republican at 20 is proof of want of heart; to be one at 30 is proof of want of head.

Or the misquotation you and I may be more familiar with: If you're not a liberal when you're 25, you have no heart. If you're not a conservative by the time you're 35, you have no brain. (Churchill never actually said that.)

I've been thinking about this a lot the past year or two, about the paradigms adopted by the masses and general public and the (retch) media. Why is it that usually, to be young is to be liberal, and to be old is to be conservative?

I think it's simply a matter of throwing in the towel. Not all of us have the strength and will to be a hero. After 35 years of resisting and fighting the conservative destructiveness of the status quo, the business as usual systems of the world, I could understand that one becomes tired. Hell, I'm 23, haven't even done a scrap of genuine activism or campaigning in my sorry life yet, and I'm already tired of fighting. I'm starting to accept hegemony simply because it's easier. I console myself with the thought of other, braver, stronger men and women in the world who are fighting for causes I believe in.

I'm a free rider, essentially!

The other quote that hangs over me: The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing. (Edmund Burke)

Leave a Reply

